1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3d Projection mapping

Discussion in 'Just Starting' started by Samzen, Feb 17, 2011.

1. Samzen

Samzen New Member

Hi friends..
    i am newbie in this field.
    I have been approached by a company to do something like the link
    below for there car launch.

Being a visual effects artist compositor i understand the 2d projection system
    But to do in real 3d i have no experience.
    i wud like to ask the seniors here what shud my prep be to achieve such
    stuff.
    wht are the basic question i shud adhere to and keep in mind
    Projection res
    The cgi renders res
    the maths evolved

thanks in advance..

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 14, 2013
  2. evomedia

evomedia Control Freaks

Well good luck,

Personally I'd say that map is far too complex to provide a 'do this, then this' answer. I would say that every map requires its own solutions, so explaining what they did above is not the same as explaining how to map what you are trying to achieve, so you should be provided useful information, whats the space, what is the target object, (a car requires a completely different setup to a large building facade say). Then you need to know what 3d package you are planning on using (even deciding what 3d package you need is subject to a whole host of questions as each has different advantages) and finally what type of content your trying to create.