1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DJ on one laptop, VJ on another laptop

Discussion in 'Just Starting' started by abbeynormal, Jan 25, 2012.

1. abbeynormal

abbeynormal New Member

I'm a newbie, and have been trying to figure out what's best hardware and software for my scenario. I have a video editing background in Final Cut, but I'm having some trouble wrapping my head on how to keep two separate laptops in sync.

I want to VJ on my MacBook Pro w/ 10.7 with a triplehead (or something similar) to send video to two or three projectors. My bandmate wants to use Reason 5 on his Windows 7 PC to perform music live and somehow send sync messages to my MacBook so my MacBook knows when to start the video track, etc.

He already has clips that are synced to the bpm, I would just need to put them in a program like Resolume, GrandVJ, etc. and then be able to mess with them once they are triggered, which software would be best to do that with, and has the most expandability, but not too much of a learning curve? Would we be using MIDISync? Or are there other sync options? Is there any 3rd party software/hardware needed/desired to keep our machines in sync without much latency? I only have a 25 key Axiom to trigger stuff with now, but eventually would like to upgrade to something like a Jazzmutant Lemur a la NIN circa 2008 craziness.

Also, would he need to use something like Ableton Live instead of Reason? Since Reason really isn't made for live gigging use.

Any help would be appreciated.
  2. vjair

vjair Making Shapes

does reason actualy output midi? i know that it never used too.

*edit* it only has rewire out - personaly ive not seen a vj software which provides rewire.
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  3. abbeynormal

abbeynormal New Member

Ok, so Ableton it is. Any recommendations for the VJ software as far as what I want to do with it?