1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

End of the Festie season

Discussion in 'Gig Reports' started by USE, Aug 31, 2011.

1. USE

USE Primal Visions

Well for me, anyway, i know there are a few left to be played out, but i thought I'd start a thread for mulling over the year's wins and losses in the outdoor gig world...

My year started off very nicely playing up at Rockness right at the top of Scotland with a crew i've been working with for a a few years: http://www.beardedkitten.com/ - the site is awesome- the legendary Lock Ness is the backdrop to the main stage, which reveals itself as you come over the rolling brow of the hill from punter camping. The Scottish crowd can be a bit intense at times (last years T in the park was genuinely scary, was constantly expecting to get randomly punched in the face, yes really) but the countryside lot up here were wonderful warm souls, not sure whether it was the highland scenery or what, but there was a feeling of fraternity in the air.

The show i was performing was a concept from bearded kitten they had asked me to produce a bespoke VJ set for; basically the show lasts 3.5 hours and takes the audience round the world, courtesy of an accomplished compere dressed as a pilot, a troupe of dancing girls dressed as air hostesses, some sound effects, DJ sets and of course the visuals. The video i produced (on a typically shoe-string, but respectable budget) was CGI clips of "bearded kitten airlines" plane taking off, flying, landing, crashing, to fit in with the compere's story of events, plus a kind-of indiana-jones "plane travelling the world" shot. That was for teh filler parts in between countries... then for each country i had to research some films to mash up.... easy for Japan, not so easy for "the balkans" although it all came together in the end.

Once i get the footage off their cameraman i'll stick a link up to give a better idea.