1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feedback on my first VJ reel?

Discussion in 'Just Starting' started by FilmmakerMichael, Jan 17, 2011.

1. FilmmakerMichael

FilmmakerMichael New Member

Hey, I’m new to this whole VJ stuff, I’ve only found out about it recently through college. I’m studying Media production, and as part of the course we needed to make a variety of animated visuals, then, using our own and other people’s visuals create a VJ reel. I was wondering if could get feedback on how I did from people with more experience in this field.

1. What did you think of the video as a whole?

2. Was there any parts you felt bored at, if so please specify?

3. Was there any parts that stood out to you and why was this?

4. What do you think I could improve on?

5. What did you think of the editing?

6. Do you think this video fits the style that would be played at a club, why or why not?

7. What would you rate the video out of 10? (0 being terrible, 10 being brilliant)

Thanks for your time
    Mike
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2013
  2. vjair

vjair Making Shapes

hello and welcome :)

1) it works ( although it was a bit too psycadelic for my personal taste )
    2) too short for me to get bored.
    3) 11 secs - the graphic reresents the sound nicely. around 1min 15secs - cutting to black when there was an abscence of sound, also good. ( too many vjs keep rolling regardless imo )
    4) i think it might be too bright at points - think of the projection screen as a large light - when its flooded with brightness, so is the room, which can spoil the atmosphere in a club
    5) the editing is ok, although theres a couple of bits that i think would be hard to do live ( live mixing and compositing is fundamentaly what vjing is about for a lot of people, otherwise you are just a video editor )