1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

focus depth of video projector

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wickedthoughtzzz, Jan 9, 2012.

1. wickedthoughtzzz

wickedthoughtzzz New Member

I am new to video mapping and have a sculpture I am throwing video on to. It has a depth of about 3 feet. I am using a short throw video projector so that I can get a large image from only 4 to 5 feet away. My problem is that I can't get the image to be in focus (depth of field?) through all 3 feet of the depth of the sculpture. If it is in focus in the front, it is out of focus in the back and vice versa.

What attribute of a projector determies how deep the depth of field of focus is? I realize that if I move the projector further away and use a mid or long throw projector, that would be one solution, but it is not a solution that works for me. All else being equal, what would make a short throw projector have the deepest focus range compared to other projectors?

THANKS FOR ANY HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2. alfaleader

alfaleader Member

Your depth is not something you can change. It's one of the properties of a lens you can't change. There is only 1 place the image will be sharp (on the focal length).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Focal_length

But you are right in the fact that long trow projectors are a bit sharper at depth (the angle is lower).

3. wickedthoughtzzz

wickedthoughtzzz New Member

With photography you can change the depth of field through the use of aperature......can you not do this with video projectors somehow? Do no projectors have controllable aperature? If I bought a projector with a large F stop lens, would it not make the focus be within a wider range like it does in photography?