1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Projection Mapping query

Discussion in 'A/V' started by Mojo Jojo, Dec 4, 2011.

1. Mojo Jojo

Mojo Jojo New Member

Hi,
    Though have posted earlier in one of the post with some discouraging replies, have thought of making a new thread for all the people having queries and solutions about 3d Projection Mapping.
    I am a motion graphic designer, and work on 3ds max and after effects. And have a fair bit of an idea about projection on a screen.
    Have 2 queries
    1. How to do a 360 deg projection on a ball. And specially how should I make the content. Will it be just a UV unwrap of the material on the ball which is been created in 3d and then Mapped onto the real ball. or will be the render from the angle of projection. I suppose in the later case the no of render, i.e. no of input files will be equal to the no of projectors...
    2. How can we do a projection on car. If an expert, which I believe on this website are many, can make a tutorial or broad work flow example....would be great.
    Opsie...one more thing.
    How were they able to create glow below the car in this video. Anyone please
    :eek:
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 14, 2013
  2. vjair

vjair Making Shapes

the glow under the car is done with lights - look at any "modded" car
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2011
  3. luper

luper Lazy Member

Look, project over a ball is not that easy, I suggest you to make some try with a simple object, like a cube. If you whanna study a little bit of theory you can have a look here: http://vvvv.org/documentation/how-to-project-on-3d-geometry

By the way, if you wanna make some try, just create a sphere in 3Ds MAX and put 3 light arount it (4 is better)