1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sponsorship and business: February

Discussion in 'The Business Side' started by vjrei, Feb 2, 2007.

1. vjrei

vjrei Miami Caracas New York

Ok. The year is starting and I have been VJing for 5 years now.

Last December an sponsor came to me to discuss a few events. He came with the idea of asking me for all my rates to create a fixed price for the entire year for X amounts of events. That way he could send me two big payments at once and that was it. He ask me prices for small, mid size and big events configurations... only my equipment, no proyectors, plasma leds or anything. Just my powerbooks, my team of elfos and that is it.

So I started to offer the same package to every single sponsor and production company:

Diageo: they manae Smirnoff (Smirnoff Experience), Whine and Spirits, JW and a few others. I made a few evets for them last year but trough production companies. Production companies just do not like to pay and they keep 75% of the entire budged just for them.

Regional: The second biggets beer company in Venezuela but their offices are not in Caracas so is a bit complicated to meet with them. They were the one offering me the deal. Still I haven't being able to finally meet with them because they have to travel to Caracas for that and they do it each 3 weeks or so.

Those have been the mayor sponsor and there is where I can sell my package of events.

On the othet hand I am crossing the river because I just contecated Pepsi. Pepsi is a brand under the unbrella of Polar, and Polar is the direct adversary of Regional. Despite they work with other production companies, is an entire different world even we are all in the same city. They do not know of my existance basically.