1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VJ evolution

Discussion in 'The Business Side' started by vjrei, Oct 5, 2007.

1. vjrei

vjrei Miami Caracas New York

Every year there is a jump forward in the VJ timeline.

Many sponsors in Caracas are confused about my figure in the scene. Usually a VJ is a graphic designer with a laptop in some club, the most sofisticate one has a V4 and a DVD player.

But in my case I have 4 powerbooks, 3 V4, a 16/16 matrix switcher, a G5 with 7 outputs (soon) and a Mac Book Pro with 3 outputs.

Last year I was doing big DJs names, this year I went into corporate shows and now I am a set designer (visuals only), I have the most complex equipment, I create teh footage and manage 2 other VJs as well.

So, when a regular VJ charge $200 I charge 8K per show, the problem is that VJing is a little part of the titles I use like Technical Director and Creative Producer.

The thing is that VJing still growing technologically. I am the only one in my city investigating and educating myself, I have my partner who is focused in post production the most.

But I am amazed on how VJing is growing and how much it can give to the industry.

VJing itself is not actually mixing, a VJ is a video expert, a geek in the good sense. And it does not have a shape.

Many video providers are limited to the basic features their equipment offer. Again, this huge company bought the Barco systems that does the same as the TH2G ?for what? To run powerpoint presentations.

I am always dealing with the dilema of what VJing really is. But the good thing is that it does not have bounderies, theer is always something new to do, many creative VJs doing incredible stuff around, pushing technology and specially making fun of it by finding the way around.

So, I have noticed that every year, in my case, I do a big step in technology and in services and the timing is just fine.