1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VJ for a Living?

Discussion in 'The Business Side' started by djtachyon, Jul 8, 2008.

?

What is your source of income?

1. My 9 to 5.

68 vote(s)
    41.7%
  2. VJ'ing

41 vote(s)
    25.2%
  3. 50% Normal Job / 50% VJ

42 vote(s)
    25.8%
  4. I'm rich and I VJ for fun.

12 vote(s)
    7.4%
  1. djtachyon

djtachyon Boh Selectah

I'm curious. I have been a VJ hobbyist for about 5 years. I would love to get out of my bureaucratic Computer Engineering position and VJ for a living.

How many of you out there use this as your sole or main source of income? What hurdles does one have to pass and what is the stress level like?

I will throw in a poll too.

2. vjair

vjair Making Shapes

hurdles - having enough work, keeping up to date with promoters putting on events, self motivation to keep your work fresh and interesting( if you dont, promoters can get bored and look elsewhere), having the capital to hire any extra equipment that might be needed for an event.

stress - basicly the same but add.... if your sick you dont get paid... no holiday pay... having enough moneyt pay the rent / bills / eat, not having solid contracts for regular work ( unless you are lucky )

just as well im a man of few needs and i live far enough out of a major city to have cheap rent but close enough for it to be cheap to travel in.

you have to be much more open to working with any style or event that you are asked to do, cant realy just stick to your favourite stuff. i often end up doing nights that i wouldnt dream of going to but i still put as much effort in as i would if its my favourite type of music.

3. cat

cat Senior Moments