1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VSXU - development is easier than you might think

Discussion in 'Developers Area' started by asterix, Mar 21, 2011.

1. asterix

asterix IMAGINEER

I've recently been writing plugins for vsxu. I've never written c++ much in the past. So it came a suprise that I easily created several plugins in only a few days. I thought I'd write this article to give people a more plain english / noobs perspective on what is entailed.

I've been using VSXU's classy GUI for creating presets for many years now. I'd always wanted to write plugins but never managed to get a proper development environment in place.

JAW ran me through setting up an environment using freely available tools:

• notepad ++ (with a nice little directory browser plugin). I use this to edit / code my plugins.
    • cmake - to create 'make' files that tells the compiler what to compile
    • mingw32 - a compiler I run through windows powershell. It basically writes the .dll plugins that I can copy into a working version of vsxu's plugin directory
    • GIT - kind of like svn. It allows you to upload and download from a shared online repository of vsxu. It keeps track of versions of each update so you can backtrack if you need to
    There is a light tutorial on setting this up here although I'd like to rewrite it so that noobs like me can understand it too (I hate gits command line for example, but it has a very easy to use gui version). If you'd like assistance in the meantime, swing by the irc channel or forums at the vsxu website.

GETTING STARTED

Don't be scared off by the volume of code below, most of it is comments I've added to explain details. Writing your first plugin is really easy. Plugin C++ files and dll's are located in the vsxu/plugins/src/ folder