1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What to DO and NOT DO on your FIRST GIG

Discussion in 'Just Starting' started by lifemare, Oct 2, 2007.

1. lifemare

lifemare New Member

Hi all!

I'm an art student who's allways been around computers and has a huge videoteque at home, so it was just a matter of time, before i started out VJing. I was recently invited to work with a band and my head is spinning with ideas i'm not sure i can perform.
    My prob is i don't want to delay my chances of a live gig by staying home studying how to do it, lol! So i began working on ideas wich i can most easily accomplish right now - but even those aren't that simple.
    My fav tool is photoshop, and i draw almost as much as i breathe, so i figured i should combine those skills into this gig. But that's just not good enough, i want to work on top of cycling images, apply fast filters so they kind of animate through simple Actions, maybe play video to fill in gaps between drawings and images by having a media player open.
    Problem is that's a lot of juggling! And i would have to test drive a lot of stuff. Can any one point me in a good direction? What would be the best choice for a first gig?

[working on a XP laptop + wacom tablet + projector + no DV Cam]

2. john01

john01 5 quids worth of italics

I think you could try creating animations from your images in After Effects and export them as movies.

Or use modul8, which allows you to manipulate stills real time.

3. deepvisual

deepvisual visually challenged

what not to do? shag the client.

4. SteveG

SteveG Downstairs for Dancing

Even more important.....Dont let the client shag you :biggrin:

5. makemassair

makemassair makemassair.co.uk

When gigging, bring a friend (who you trust) to look after your kit whilst you piss or whatever else.

6. PCProject

PCProject Moderator

unless you have it in your rider

7. complexvisuals